Florida Medical Marijuana Doctors
Medical Marijuana Recommendations in Florida
Same Day Approvals Now Available
100% Money-back Guarantee If You Don't Qualify!
Compassionate Marijuana Doctors Serving Florida
DocMJ makes getting a recommendation for medical marijuana from a compassionate and qualified physician easy and affordable. All DocMJ physicians, in addition to being licensed doctors, are certified by the Florida Department of Health, Office of Medical Marijuana Use, to authorize qualified patients to receive medical marijuana from an approved dispensary.
Making an appointment is easy and convenient. Through the DocMJ website, patients make an appointment at a location and time that fits their schedule. Because DocMJ is the largest group of medical marijuana physicians in Florida, there are multiple locations to choose from. Based on a private meeting with the medical marijuana certified physician, patients receive their recommendation for medical marijuana, if they qualify. Patients will be entered into the registry and, in most cases, can purchase medical marijuana the same day.
How do I Receive a Medical Marijuana Card in Florida?
Though the prospect may seem daunting, it's actually very simple to receive a medical marijuana card in the State of Florida, with only three steps to the process! Marijuana doctors at any DocMJ location can make the process a breeze.
Schedule an Appointment
You can easily book an appointment at any of our Florida medical marijuana clinics through our website. Your initial visit requires that you complete new patient paperwork, then our medical marijuana doctors will be able to review your qualifying medical condition with you during your appointment.
In addition to having a qualifying medical condition, by Florida law, only Florida residents, or seasonal residents (snow birds) who reside in Florida for 30 days, may receive a medical marijuana card in the State of Florida.
Consult With Your Medical Marijuana Doctor
Regardless of where you are in the state, our appointments are 15 minute visits where the qualified physician will review your medical records, discuss your qualifying conditions, and answer any questions you may have about medical cannabis use. Should the medical marijuana doctor consider you a qualified patient and that you would benefit from medical marijuana, your physician will add you to the Florida Medical Marijuana Use Registry.
Prior to your first appointment, if you have them, you should submit medical records indicating a qualifying medical condition or qualifying medical conditions if multiple.
Paid in Full
- Money-Back Guarantee If You Do Not Receive a Recommendation
- Full Medical Cannabis Recommendations
- Automatic Renewals Every 70 days, Up to State Maximum of 7 Months
- All-Inclusive, No Additional Hidden Fees.
- **One-Time Processing Fee of 2.9%.
Easy Monthly Payments
- Money-Back Guarantee If You Do Not Receive a Recommendation
- Full Medical Cannabis Recommendations
- Automatic Renewals Every 70 days, Up to State Maximum of 7 Months
- All-Inclusive, No Additional Hidden Fees
- Easy Monthly Payments – Cannot be Cancelled Until The Initial 7-Month Commitment is Complete
- **One-Time handling Fee of $20.
Receive Your Medical Marijuana CardAfter application to the Florida Medical Marijuana Use Registry, you may apply for your medical marijuana card from the State of Florida.. This card allows you to visit any dispensary within the State to purchase medical cannabis, in the dosage and route that your marijuana doctor recommended for you. Medical marijuana cards in the State of Florida are valid for 1 year. Your physician's medical marijuana recommendation is valid for a maximum of 210 days, or 7 months.
Why Do I Need A Medical Cannabis Card?With a medical cannabis card, you are legally protected if you are stopped and found in possession of marijuana. If you have been found having purchased marijuana from a state licensed medical marijuana treatment center (dispensary) and have your registry identification card, you should be able to avoid any negative legal consequences.
Will My Florida Medical Marijuana Card Work Anywhere in the State?Florida patients who have received their Florida medical cannabis card may purchase at any state-licensed dispensary. Regardless if your card was issued by medical marijuana doctors in Miami Beach, Fort Lauderdale, Jacksonville, Tampa, Orlando, or anywhere within the State of Florida, as a Florida resident you would qualify to purchase medical marijuana.
Florida's Medical Marijuana HistoryIn 2014, Florida joined twenty-one other states in legalizing medical marijuana with the signing of the Compassionate Medical Cannabis Act of 2014. This allowed low-THC medical cannabis products to be recommended to those suffering from cancer, chronic seizures, epilepsy, or muscle spasms, so long as that recommendation came from a licensed medical marijuana doctor. Then, in 2016, voters in the State of Florida approved the Florida Medical Marijuana Legalization Initiative (Amendment 2), legalizing the use of full strength marijuana for qualifying medical conditions, with the requirement that a licensed medical marijuana doctor approve the patient. Since then, more changes to the law have been made. Having a medical marijuana evaluation done by marijuana doctors throughout the state will allow you to obtain a medical marijuana card, satisfying Florida state law and protecting you from potential legal consequences.
Definition of Medical Marijuana in the State of FloridaSimply put, the state defines medical marijuana or medical cannabis as products which are purchased at a licensed dispensary (or medical marijuana treatment center) by a qualified patient with a medical marijuana card. Acquiring marijuana from a source other than a state recognized dispensary will mean that your cannabis is not considered 'medical marijuana' and therefore subject to your city's laws towards possession and is a crime under Florida law.
Who is Eligible for Medical Marijuana in the State of Florida?Speaking with our Florida medical marijuana doctors, you will discuss your particular situation and need, but there are two general requirements for any patient to be given a medical marijuana recommendation and obtain a card from the State:You must be either a permanent or temporary resident within the State of Florida to both receive and maintain your MMJ card from the state. This card is utilized at medical marijuana dispensaries throughout the state, and will only work in Florida dispensaries. Cards issued in other states may not apply, nor may a card issued in Florida apply in other states. You must be diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition by a certified doctor. Beyond the enumerated list below, the law allows a terminal condition diagnosed by a physician, or other debilitating conditions of like, kind, or class such as depression, anxiety, and migraines.
Conditions Which Qualify for Medical Marijuana Treatment
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis also known as ALS or Lou Gehrig's Disease - Nervous system disease that weakens muscles and impacts physical function
- Cancer - Disease caused by an uncontrolled division of abnormal cells in a given part of the body
- Epilepsy or Seizures - A transient occurrence of signs and/or symptoms due to abnormal excessive or synchronous neuronal activity in the brain
- Crohn's Disease - A chronic inflammatory bowel disease that affects the lining of the digestive tract
- Glaucoma - Eye conditions marked by increased intraocular pressure that can cause blindness
- HIV/AIDS - Human immunodeficiency virus that overtime causes acquired immunodeficiency syndrome
- Multiple Sclerosis also known as MS - A disease in which the immune system eats away at the protective covering of the nerves
- Parkinson's Disease - A disorder of the central nervous system that affects movement, often including tremors
- Post Traumatic Stress Disorder or PTSD - A disorder in which a person has difficulty recovering after experiences or witnessing a terrifying event.
- Chronic Muscle Spasms - Sudden, involuntary movement in one or more muscles
- Chronic Nonmalignant Pain - Pain unrelated to cancer that persists beyond the usual course of disease or injury
Proof of Residence Requirement for Medical Marijuana TreatmentFor permanent Florida residents, they may provide any form of state-approved forms of identification to prove their residency. Whereas seasonal residents or temporary residents can submit a copy of two of the following to prove residence:
- A monthly mortgage statement, deed, mortgage, residential rental or lease agreement
- A proof of residential address from a parent, step-parent, legal guardian, or a person who the seasonal resident lives with along with a statement confirming the claim is true
- A utility bill or work order
- Mail addressed to seasonal resident from either a financial institution (a checking, savings, investment account statement), or a federal, state, or municipal government agency no older than two months
Purchasing Medical Marijuana in the State of FloridaOnce you have been approved and received your Florida medical marijuana card, you are eligible to legally purchase medical marijuana, but only from approved facilities. These facilities, otherwise known as Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers, or more commonly dispensaries, exist throughout the state. The classification of medical only applies when you purchase medical cannabis from one of these approved or licensed dispensaries. In order to purchase from any of these facilities, your information must be sent to the OMMU by a licensed and certified marijuana doctor. Without this, you cannot purchase cannabis products. While medical marijuana doctors will recommend medical marijuana treatment dosage and routes, there is no requirement for a specific recommendation of where to purchase cannabis. There are directories available to find dispensaries which will take Florida medical marijuana cards for any qualifying conditions.
Are Medical Records for Medical Marijuana Private?The Florida Department of Health branch known as the Office of Medical Marijuana Use (OMMU) has strict power over the online registry, giving access only to your marijuana doctors, law enforcement, dispensary staff, and the Florida Department of Health itself. Within your private Florida medical record, your registry entry has both your qualifying medical condition, or multiple qualifying conditions, and the recommended amount and method of medical marijuana provided by your doctor.
Are There Restrictions Even With a Florida Medical Marijuana Card?Even though the perception of cannabis and medical marijuana has changed significantly since legalization in 2016, there are still certain ways that you may be restricted, regardless if you have a medical marijuana card.
Traveling with Medical MarijuanaFederal law still classifies marijuana as a Schedule 1 drug, meaning that even if a state permits medical marijuana use, it would be considered illegal to cross state lines with medical marijuana in your possession. This is because federal law supersedes state law, regardless of each state's view. So while you will not be legally allowed to cross Florida state lines with medical cannabis, you may be able to purchase recreational or medical marijuana in select states. Some states allow for small dosages recreationally, where others still need valid out-of-state medical marijuana cards, more specifically a medical marijuana card issued by a Florida medical doctor. This list is subject to change, but includes (following list does not include recreational marijuana states):
States Allowing Florida Medical Marijuana Cards
- Arkansas - Allowances: Up to 2.5 oz usable per 14 day period
- California - Not required to have a medical marijuana card, though it would waive additional taxes for qualified patients. Allowances: 1 oz. usable, 8g concentrate
- Colorado - There are stricter possession limits for out-of-state cardholders or non-residents. Allowances: 1 oz. usable (only purchasable in quarter ounces at a time), 8g concentrate
- Hawaii - Must also be registered in Hawaii. Allowances: 4 oz. usable per 15 days
- Illinois - Allowances: 15g usable, 2.5g concentrates
- Maine - Must have a Maine-approved physician certificate form in addition to a home-state issued medical marijuana card. Allowances: 2.5 oz. usable, 5g concentrates
- Michigan - Allowances: 2.5 oz usable
- Montana - Allowances: 1 oz usable
- Nevada - Allowances: 2.5 oz usable per 14 days
- New Hampshire - Must have medical marijuana card issued for a qualifying condition approved by New Hampshire. Allowances: 2 oz usable
- Oklahoma - Must also purchase a temporary registration from the state for $100
- Rhode Island - Allowances: 2.5 oz usable
Flying with Medical MarijuanaMedical marijuana cannot legally cross state lines, even if into another state that has the same laws for medical marijuana, you may also encounter issues if flying within state in possession of medical cannabis. There are conflicting reports from TSA regarding the search of bags for marijuana, regardless if it is for medical purposes or otherwise. During a search, you may be stopped and need to provide proof of your medical marijuana card, and even then may still encounter issues.
Employment with Medical MarijuanaWhile the State of Florida has permitted the use of medical marijuana, the laws do not extend to employers within the state. At this time it is up to the employer whether or not they will accept your medical marijuana card and therefore permit usage of medical cannabis or low THC cannabis. Employers may still require employees to submit drug tests, and deem the presence of marijuana as failure to pass these tests. When in doubt, it is best to be aware of your employer's stance on marijuana use, because they may not distinguish the difference between medical or recreational marijuana use.
What Do I Need as a Caregiver?If you are a caregiver in the State of Florida, you must also meet certain requirements to be issued a 'caregiver card' by the state. The patient must also have a qualified medical marijuana card issued by the state in order for the caregiver to receive theirs. You must present a Florida driver's license or other form of identification in order to receive a caregiver card, which will notate both the caregiver and patient name. When purchasing at a dispensary anywhere in the state, caregivers must present both their caregiver card and the patient card in order to purchase cannabis.
How Often Do I Need to Renew My Medical Marijuana Recommendation?A physician certification given to Florida patients is valid by Florida state law for up to 210 days (or seven months). In order to purchase medical cannabis you will need an active recommendation from a Florida medical marijuana doctor and an active Florida medical marijuana card.
How Much Does a Medical Marijuana Recommendation Cost?At DocMJ, your visit with one of our medical marijuana doctors can cost only $189, paid in full, or $30 per month, for 7 months with a one-time $20 processing fee. This fee covers the visit with one of our medical marijuana doctors and renewals of the required recommendations for the full 7 months. In addition, the State of Florida charges a fee for the card itself.
How Much Does a Medical Marijuana Card Cost?The State of Florida charges $75 annually for a Medical Marijuana card.
Does Insurance Cover Medical Marijuana in the State of Florida?At this time, no Florida medical insurance provider will cover any kind of medical cannabis or medical marijuana treatment. Florida patients are required to pay for their visit with any marijuana doctors in Florida out of pocket.
How Long Will It Take Before I Get My Card?If you have a Florida Driver's license, you may be approved to purchase on the same day as your appointment with a certifying physician.
What Will My Marijuana Doctor Recommend?There is no such thing as a 'usual course of action' when it comes to this, and your marijuana doctor will discuss options with you to find the route and strain of marijuana that best suits your needs. Whether smokeable, pre-roll, topical, or edible, there are a variety of options that marijuana doctors will bring to the table, each with their own set of dosage and usage requirements. No singular style suits all, so it's important to discuss these options.
About DocMJAt DocMJ, our marijuana doctors take pride in ensuring that your qualifying conditions are not only understood, but also that your needs are met with their recommendation. Whether you have Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Crohn's Disease, or any other condition which qualifies for Florida medical cannabis, our cannabis doctors will uphold the highest standards in the industry. Our appointment schedule varies by location and physician, but we guarantee that visits with any of our cannabis doctors will be efficient in both time and efficacy. We have made it a priority since our opening to provide only the highest care possible, and will ensure we meet your needs.
See if You Qualify From The Comfort of Your Home
Medical Marijuana Card Application in Florida
See if you Qualify
Try our easy pre-qualification exam to see instantly if you may qualify for a medical marijuana recommendation today!
Under Florida law, these conditions are eligible for a medical marijuana card:
A disorder in which a person has difficulty recovering after experiencing or witnessing a terrifying event.
A transient occurrence of signs and/or symptoms due to abnormal excessive or synchronous neuronal activity in the brain.
A disorder of the central nervous system that affects movement, often including tremors.
Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
A disease in which the immune system eats away at the protective covering of nerves.
A chronic inflammatory bowel disease that affects the lining of the digestive tract.
Eye conditions marked by increase intraocular pressure that can cause blindness.
Chronic muscle spasms
Sudden, involuntary movement in one or more muscles.
Human immunodeficiency virus that over time causes acquired immunodeficiency syndrome.
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
Nervous system disease that weakens muscles and impacts physical function.
Disease caused by an uncontrolled division of abnormal cells in a given part of the body.
Chronic nonmalignant pain
Pain unrelated to cancer that persists beyond the usual course of disease or injury.
Additionally, Florida law allows a physician to certify patients for a medical marijuana card after diagnosing them with “other medical conditions of the same class”.
Juliana Pineider, MD
Salah Mankash, MD
Thomas Derbes, MD
Scot Lance, MD
Robert Dotson Jr, MD
Richard Boyett, MD
Leslie Herzog, DO
Laura Preston, MD
Joseph Rosado, MD
Frank Mendicino, MD
Charles Nutinsky, DO
Andrea Zotovas, MD
Heather Samuelson, MD
Charlene Shaw, D.O.
Dr. Elise Zahn, D.O.
Nathaniel Miller, D.O.
Jack Rothman, M.D.
Donald Mars, M.D.
Ross Glider, D.O.
Peter Calkin, M.D.
Jerold Derkaz M.D. CCHP
Shirley Zelikovsky, M.D.
Marc Puchir, D.O.
Carlos Levy, D.O.
Irwin Landau, M.D.
Stephen Salcedo, M.D.
Denise Schow, M.D.
Antonio Ben P. Monson, M.D.
Wen Ting Zheng-Smith, M.D. PhD
Marissa Magsino, M.D.
John Batts, M.D.
Robert Eckert, M.D.
Michael Belotti, D.O.
Louis Frosch, D.O.
Carlos Romero, M.D.
Frank Russo, M.D.
Ronald Cirillo, M.D.
Atul Sofat, M.D.
Meet Our Online Mental Health Counselors
Rochelle Powell, LCSW
Paula Arce, LMHC
Sunny Bowers, LPCC
Frequently Asked Questions
What is your refund policy?
We aim to be as transparent as possible with our refund policy. It is as follows:
- Cancel within 24 hours of joining our services — 100% refund.
- Cancel after 24 hours – 100% refund minus $25 fee.
- Reschedule/no-show/cancel appointment less than 48 hours prior – $50 fee.
- Once a recommendation is issued after your exam, our services are non-refundable in any way.
Do I have be concerned about any privacy issues if I receive an evaluation or recommendation?
No, your visit is protected under privacy laws.
Do I have to be 18 to receive a recommendation?
No, if you are younger than 18 you can receive an evaluation if you are accompanied by a guardian. Pediatric patients must have a guardian call to book an appointment with us at 888-908-0143.
How Much Does a Medical Marijuana Card Cost?
Your medical recommendation cost from us is $189. This covers our initial exam, recommendation and 70-day renewals.
We also have Easy Monthly Payments. Please visit our Pricing page for more information.
Can I receive my recommendation on the first visit?
Yes! A certified physician can activate your Full-THC Medical Cannabis or Low-THC Cannabis order once they have completed an exam and confirmed that you qualify. At this time, you’ll receive your Patient ID number.
What conditions qualify for a medical cannabis recommendation?
Click Here to take our Eligibility Survey and schedule your appointment.
Am I guaranteed to receive a medical marijuana recommendation?
NO. While we do offer a money back guarantee if you do not receive a recommendation, we DO NOT guarantee that you will receive a recommendation. You can only receive a recommendation if your doctor determines you have a qualifying condition as defined by Florida law, and that the benefits of using medical marijuana outweigh the risks.
Do I have to pay an evaluation fee if I do not qualify for a medical marijuana recommendation?
No, you will be refunded in full!!
How long does it take to get a medical marijuana recommendation?
Approximately 15 minutes! Come in for your exam, and if you qualify, your physician will immediately add you to the Office of Medical Marijuana Use Registry.
To get your card and begin treatment after you receive a recommendation, you must pay a fee to the state and upload a passport photo to apply for the card. This can be done through the email you received after you obtained your recommendation. To get more information, or to complete a paper application, click here.
Who is Eligible for Medical Marijuana in the State of Florida?
Speaking with our Florida medical marijuana doctors, you will discuss your particular situation and need, but there are two general requirements for any patient to be given a medical marijuana recommendation and obtain a card from the State: You must be either a permanent or temporary resident within the State of Florida to both receive and maintain your MMJ card from the state. This card is utilized at medical marijuana dispensaries throughout the state, and will only work in Florida dispensaries. Cards issued in other states may not apply, nor may a card issued in Florida apply in other states. You must be diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition by a certified doctor. Beyond the enumerated list below, the law allows a terminal condition diagnosed by a physician, or other debilitating conditions of like, kind, or class such as depression, anxiety, and migraines.
Will My Florida Medical Marijuana Card Work Anywhere in the State?
Florida patients who have received their Florida medical cannabis card may purchase at any state-licensed dispensary. Regardless if your card was issued by medical marijuana doctors in Miami Beach, Fort Lauderdale, Jacksonville, Tampa, Orlando, or anywhere within the State of Florida, as a Florida resident you would qualify to purchase medical marijuana.
Can I Travel Across State Lines With Marijuana If I Have A Card?
As of now, No. Federal law prohibits carrying marijuana across state lines. It would be considered drug trafficking.
Can I Use My Florida Medical Marijuana Card in Other States?
While medical marijuana remains a Schedule I narcotic at the federal level it has been legalized for some states. Many have agreements between them to allow out-of-state medical marijuana cards. This is known as “reciprocity.” Florida does not yet offer reciprocity, that is, those with out-of-state medical marijuana cards cannot use them in Florida. However, Floridians can use a medical marijuana card in some other states with certain guidelines. Read on to learn which states allow the use of your Florida medical marijuana card. Read more here.